Talking about *practice*

This is what I’m practicing today:

Pausing.

Breathing.

Identifying
the next task in front me
that needs doing
that I’m capable of completing.

Performing the task.

Returning to the beginning.

This could be as simple as putting dirty dishes in the dishwasher, or making breakfast, or sleeping if I’m tired.

It could be as complex as revising an essay, or arranging alone time with my partner, or settling a dispute between my children.

If all the tasks that need doing involve caring for others, or
if all the tasks that need doing are about self care, or
if all the tasks that need doing are unpleasant or difficult, or
if all the tasks that need doing are pleasant are easy,
these indicate that I should consider carefully how I define “need.”

For me, if the task takes more than half an hour, it’s too big, and I need to break it into smaller tasks.

It’s challenging, but I already feel more attentive, more present, and calmer.

The first two steps (pausing, breathing) are the most important.

One thought on “Talking about *practice*

Leave a Reply

